Electron antineutrino search at the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory

B. Aharmim, S. N. Ahmed, E. W. Beier, A. Bellerive, S. D. Biller, J. Boger, M. G. Boulay, T. J. Bowles, S. J. Brice, T. V. Bullard, Y. D. Chan, M. Chen, X. Chen, B. T. Cleveland, G. A. Cox, X. Dai, F. Dalnoki-Veress, P. J. Doe, R. S. Dosanjh, G. DoucasM. R. Dragowsky, C. A. Duba, F. A. Duncan, M. Dunford, J. A. Dunmore, E. D. Earle, S. R. Elliott, H. C. Evans, G. T. Ewan, J. Farine, H. Fergani, F. Fleurot, J. A. Formaggio, M. M. Fowler, K. Frame, W. Frati, B. G. Fulsom, N. Gagnon, K. Graham, D. R. Grant, R. L. Hahn, A. L. Hallin, E. D. Hallman, A. S. Hamer, W. B. Handler, C. K. Hargrove, P. J. Harvey, R. Hazama, K. M. Heeger, W. J. Heintzelman, J. Heise, R. L. Helmer, R. J. Hemingway, A. Hime, M. A. Howe, P. Jagam, N. A. Jelley, J. R. Klein, L. L. Kormos, M. S. Kos, A. Krüger, C. B. Krauss, A. V. Krumins, T. Kutter, C. C.M. Kyba, H. Labranche, R. Lange, J. Law, I. T. Lawson, K. T. Lesko, J. R. Leslie, I. Levine, S. Luoma, R. MacLellan, S. Majerus, H. B. Mak, J. Maneira, A. D. Marino, N. McCauley, A. B. McDonald, S. McGee, G. McGregor, C. Mifflin, K. K.S. Miknaitis, G. G. Miller, B. A. Moffat, C. W. Nally, M. S. Neubauer, B. G. Nickel, A. J. Noble, E. B. Norman, N. S. Oblath, C. E. Okada, R. W. Ollerhead, J. L. Orrell, S. M. Oser, C. Ouellet, S. J.M. Peeters, A. W.P. Poon, K. Rielage, B. C. Robertson, R. G.H. Robertson, E. Rollin, S. S.E. Rosendahl, V. L. Rusu, M. H. Schwendener, O. Simard, J. J. Simpson, C. J. Sims, D. Sinclair, P. Skensved, M. W.E. Smith, N. Starinsky, R. G. Stokstad, L. C. Stonehill, R. Tafirout, Y. Takeuchi, G. Tešić, M. Thomson, T. Tsui, R. Van Berg, R. G. Van de Water, C. J. Virtue, B. L. Wall, D. Waller, C. E. Waltham, H. Wan Chan Tseung, D. L. Wark, N. West, J. B. Wilhelmy, J. F. Wilkerson, J. R. Wilson, P. Wittich, J. M. Wouters, M. Yeh, K. Zuber

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


Upper limits on the [Formula Presented] flux at the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory have been set based on the [Formula Presented] charged-current reaction on deuterium. The reaction produces a positron and two neutrons in coincidence. This distinctive signature allows a search with very low background for [Formula Presented]’s from the Sun and other potential sources. Both differential and integral limits on the [Formula Presented] flux have been placed in the energy range from 4–14.8 MeV. For an energy-independent [Formula Presented] conversion mechanism, the integral limit on the flux of solar [Formula Presented]’s in the energy range from 4–14.8 MeV is found to be [Formula Presented] (90% C.L.), which corresponds to 0.81% of the standard solar model [Formula presented] [Formula Presented] flux of [Formula Presented], and is consistent with the more sensitive limit from KamLAND in the 8.3–14.8 MeV range of [Formula Presented] (90% C.L.). In the energy range from 4–8 MeV, a search for [Formula Presented]’s is conducted using coincidences in which only the two neutrons are detected. Assuming a [Formula Presented] spectrum for the neutron induced fission of naturally occurring elements, a flux limit of [Formula Presented] (90% C.L.) is obtained.

Original languageEnglish (US)
JournalPhysical Review D - Particles, Fields, Gravitation and Cosmology
Issue number9
StatePublished - 2004
Externally publishedYes

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Nuclear and High Energy Physics
  • Physics and Astronomy (miscellaneous)


Dive into the research topics of 'Electron antineutrino search at the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this