Determination of the B̄→D*ℓν̄ decay width and |V cb |

N. E. Adam, J. P. Alexander, C. Bebek, B. E. Berger, K. Berkelman, F. Blanc, V. Boisvert, D. G. Cassel, P. S. Drell, J. E. Duboscq, K. M. Ecklund, R. Ehrlich, L. Gibbons, B. Gittelman, S. W. Gray, D. L. Hartill, B. K. Heltsley, L. Hsu, C. D. Jones, J. KandaswamyD. L. Kreinick, A. Magerkurth, H. Mahlke-Krüger, T. O. Meyer, N. B. Mistry, E. Nordberg, M. Palmer, J. R. Patterson, D. Peterson, J. Pivarski, D. Riley, A. J. Sadoff, H. Schwarthoff, M. R. Shepherd, J. G. Thayer, D. Urner, B. Valant-Spaight, G. Viehhauser, A. Warburton, M. Weinberger, S. B. Athar, P. Avery, H. Stoeck, J. Yelton, G. Brandenburg, A. Ershov, D. Y.J. Kim, R. Wilson, K. Benslama, Jon J Thaler, J. Ernst, G. D. Gollin, R. M. Hans, I. Karliner, N. Lowrey, M. A. Marsh, C. Plager, C. Sedlack, M. Selen, J. J. Thaler, J. Williams, K. W. Edwards, R. Ammar, D. Besson, X. Zhao, S. Anderson, V. V. Frolov, Y. Kubota, S. J. Lee, S. Z. Li, R. Poling, A. Smith, C. J. Stepaniak, J. Urheim, S. Ahmed, M. S. Alam, L. Jian, M. Saleem, F. Wappler, E. Eckhart, K. K. Gan, C. Gwon, T. Hart, K. Honscheid, D. Hufnagel, H. Kagan, R. Kass, T. K. Pedlar, J. B. Thayer, E. von Toerne, T. Wilksen, M. M. Zoeller, S. J. Richichi, H. Severini, P. Skubic, S. A. Dytman, S. Nam, V. Savinov, S. Chen, J. W. Hinson, J. Lee, D. H. Miller, V. Pavlunin, E. I. Shibata, I. P.J. Shipsey, D. Cronin-Hennessy, A. L. Lyon, C. S. Park, W. Park, E. H. Thorndike, T. E. Coan, Y. S. Gao, F. Liu, Y. Maravin, I. Narsky, R. Stroynowski, J. Ye, M. Artuso, C. Boulahouache, K. Bukin, E. Dambasuren, R. Mountain, T. Skwarnicki, S. Stone, J. C. Wang, A. H. Mahmood, S. E. Csorna, I. Danko, Z. Xu, G. Bonvicini, D. Cinabro, M. Dubrovin, S. McGee, A. Bornheim, E. Lipeles, S. P. Pappas, A. Shapiro, W. M. Sun, A. J. Weinstein, G. Masek, H. P. Paar, R. Mahapatra, R. A. Briere, G. P. Chen, T. Ferguson, G. Tatishvili, H. Vogel

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


In the standard model, the charged current of the weak interaction is governed by a unitary quark mixing matrix that also leads to CP violation. Measurement of the Cabibbo-Kobayashi-Maskawa (CKM) matrix elements is essential to searches for new physics, either through the structure of the CKM matrix, or a departure from unitarity. We determine the CKM matrix element |Vcb| using a sample of 3×106 BB̄ events in the CLEO detector at the Cornell Electron Storage Ring. We determine the yield of reconstructed B̄0 →D*+ ℓν̄ and B -D*0ℓν̄ decays as a function of w, the boost of the D* in the B rest frame, and from this we obtain the differential decay rate dΓ/dw. By extrapolating dΓ/dw to w = 1, the kinematic end point at which the D* is at rest relative to the B, we extract the product |Vcb|ℱ(1), where ℱ(1) is the form factor at w=1. We find |Vcb|ℱ(1) = 0.0431±0.0013(stat) ±0.0018(syst). We combine |Vcb|ℱ(1) with theoretical results for ℱ(1) to determine |Vcb| = 0.0469±0.0014(stat) ±0.0020(syst)±0.0018(theor). We also integrate the differential decay rate over w to obtain B(B̄0→D *+ℓν̄ = (609±0.19±0.40)% and B(B -→D*0ℓν̄) = (6.50±0. 20±0.43)%.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Article number032001
JournalPhysical Review D
Issue number3
StatePublished - 2003

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Nuclear and High Energy Physics


Dive into the research topics of 'Determination of the B̄→D*ℓν̄ decay width and |V cb |'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this