9nm node wafer defect inspection using visible light

Renjie Zhou, Chris Edwards, Gabriel Popescu, Lynford L Goddard

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingConference contribution

Abstract

Over the past 2 years, we have developed a common optical-path, 532 nm laser epi-illumination diffraction phase microscope (epi-DPM) and successfully applied it to detect different types of defects down to 20 by 100 nm in a 22nm node intentional defect array (IDA) wafer. An image post-processing method called 2DISC, using image frame 2nd order differential, image stitching, and convolution, was used to significantly improve sensitivity of the measured images. To address 9nm node IDA wafer inspection, we updated our system with a highly stable 405 nm diode laser. By using the 2DISC method, we detected parallel bridge defects in the 9nm node wafer. To further enhance detectability, we are exploring 3D wafer scanning, white-light illumination, and dark-field inspection.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Title of host publicationMetrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII
PublisherSPIE
ISBN (Print)9780819499738
DOIs
StatePublished - Jan 1 2014
EventMetrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII - San Jose, CA, United States
Duration: Feb 24 2014Feb 27 2014

Publication series

NameProceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering
Volume9050
ISSN (Print)0277-786X
ISSN (Electronic)1996-756X

Other

OtherMetrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII
CountryUnited States
CitySan Jose, CA
Period2/24/142/27/14

Fingerprint

Defect Inspection
Wafer
inspection
Defects
Inspection
wafers
defects
Vertex of a graph
Illumination
Lighting
illumination
Stitching
Detectability
Diode Laser
optical paths
Convolution
Post-processing
convolution integrals
Microscope
Semiconductor lasers

Keywords

  • 9nm node wafer
  • dark-field imaging
  • image processing
  • phase imaging
  • signal to noise ratio
  • wafer defect inspection

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Applied Mathematics
  • Computer Science Applications
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Electronic, Optical and Magnetic Materials
  • Condensed Matter Physics

Cite this

Zhou, R., Edwards, C., Popescu, G., & Goddard, L. L. (2014). 9nm node wafer defect inspection using visible light. In Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII [905017] (Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering; Vol. 9050). SPIE. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2046451

9nm node wafer defect inspection using visible light. / Zhou, Renjie; Edwards, Chris; Popescu, Gabriel; Goddard, Lynford L.

Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII. SPIE, 2014. 905017 (Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering; Vol. 9050).

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingConference contribution

Zhou, R, Edwards, C, Popescu, G & Goddard, LL 2014, 9nm node wafer defect inspection using visible light. in Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII., 905017, Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering, vol. 9050, SPIE, Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII, San Jose, CA, United States, 2/24/14. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2046451
Zhou R, Edwards C, Popescu G, Goddard LL. 9nm node wafer defect inspection using visible light. In Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII. SPIE. 2014. 905017. (Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering). https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2046451
Zhou, Renjie ; Edwards, Chris ; Popescu, Gabriel ; Goddard, Lynford L. / 9nm node wafer defect inspection using visible light. Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII. SPIE, 2014. (Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering).
@inproceedings{58b8738866474534ae84160e65846c95,
title = "9nm node wafer defect inspection using visible light",
abstract = "Over the past 2 years, we have developed a common optical-path, 532 nm laser epi-illumination diffraction phase microscope (epi-DPM) and successfully applied it to detect different types of defects down to 20 by 100 nm in a 22nm node intentional defect array (IDA) wafer. An image post-processing method called 2DISC, using image frame 2nd order differential, image stitching, and convolution, was used to significantly improve sensitivity of the measured images. To address 9nm node IDA wafer inspection, we updated our system with a highly stable 405 nm diode laser. By using the 2DISC method, we detected parallel bridge defects in the 9nm node wafer. To further enhance detectability, we are exploring 3D wafer scanning, white-light illumination, and dark-field inspection.",
keywords = "9nm node wafer, dark-field imaging, image processing, phase imaging, signal to noise ratio, wafer defect inspection",
author = "Renjie Zhou and Chris Edwards and Gabriel Popescu and Goddard, {Lynford L}",
year = "2014",
month = "1",
day = "1",
doi = "10.1117/12.2046451",
language = "English (US)",
isbn = "9780819499738",
series = "Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering",
publisher = "SPIE",
booktitle = "Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII",

}

TY - GEN

T1 - 9nm node wafer defect inspection using visible light

AU - Zhou, Renjie

AU - Edwards, Chris

AU - Popescu, Gabriel

AU - Goddard, Lynford L

PY - 2014/1/1

Y1 - 2014/1/1

N2 - Over the past 2 years, we have developed a common optical-path, 532 nm laser epi-illumination diffraction phase microscope (epi-DPM) and successfully applied it to detect different types of defects down to 20 by 100 nm in a 22nm node intentional defect array (IDA) wafer. An image post-processing method called 2DISC, using image frame 2nd order differential, image stitching, and convolution, was used to significantly improve sensitivity of the measured images. To address 9nm node IDA wafer inspection, we updated our system with a highly stable 405 nm diode laser. By using the 2DISC method, we detected parallel bridge defects in the 9nm node wafer. To further enhance detectability, we are exploring 3D wafer scanning, white-light illumination, and dark-field inspection.

AB - Over the past 2 years, we have developed a common optical-path, 532 nm laser epi-illumination diffraction phase microscope (epi-DPM) and successfully applied it to detect different types of defects down to 20 by 100 nm in a 22nm node intentional defect array (IDA) wafer. An image post-processing method called 2DISC, using image frame 2nd order differential, image stitching, and convolution, was used to significantly improve sensitivity of the measured images. To address 9nm node IDA wafer inspection, we updated our system with a highly stable 405 nm diode laser. By using the 2DISC method, we detected parallel bridge defects in the 9nm node wafer. To further enhance detectability, we are exploring 3D wafer scanning, white-light illumination, and dark-field inspection.

KW - 9nm node wafer

KW - dark-field imaging

KW - image processing

KW - phase imaging

KW - signal to noise ratio

KW - wafer defect inspection

UR - http://www.scopus.com/inward/record.url?scp=84902108722&partnerID=8YFLogxK

UR - http://www.scopus.com/inward/citedby.url?scp=84902108722&partnerID=8YFLogxK

U2 - 10.1117/12.2046451

DO - 10.1117/12.2046451

M3 - Conference contribution

SN - 9780819499738

T3 - Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering

BT - Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXVIII

PB - SPIE

ER -