Fingerprint The Elsevier Fingerprint Engine mines the text of the experts' scholarly documents – publication abstracts, awards, project summaries, patents, and other sources – to create an index of weighted terms which defines the text, known as a Fingerprint. By aggregating and comparing Fingerprints, the Elsevier Fingerprint Engine enables users to look beyond metadata and expose valuable connections among people, research units, publications, and ideas.

  • Network Recent external collaboration on country level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots.


    No photo of Janet R Barrett

    Janet R Barrett

    • School of Music - Marilyn Pflederer Zimmerman Endowed Chair, Professor, Coordinator of Faculty Affairs

    Person: Academic

    No photo of Christina Bashford

    Christina Bashford

    Person: Academic

    No photo of Donna A Buchanan

    Donna A Buchanan

    Person: Academic

    Research Output

    Attending to the Nightingale: On a Multispecies Ethnomusicology

    Silvers, M. B., 2020, (Accepted/In press) In : Ethnomusicology.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

    Immediate effects of a semi-occluded water resistance ventilation mask on objective and subjective vocal outcomes in musical theater students

    Meerschman, I., Van Lierde, K., Redman, Y. G., Becker, L., Benoy, A., Kissel, I., Leyns, C., Daelman, J. & D’haeseleer, E., Mar 2020, In : Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research. 63, 3, p. 661-673 13 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

  • ‘Take a back seat’: White music teachers engaging Hip-Hop in the classroom

    Kruse, A. J., Jan 1 2020, (Accepted/In press) In : Research Studies in Music Education.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

  • Activities

    Music Teacher In-service Day

    Elizabeth B Peterson (Speaker)

    Mar 20 2009

    Activity: Talk typesInvited talk

    Cultivating artistic sensibilities in children and teachers

    Janet R Barrett (Speaker)

    May 2013

    Activity: Talk typesInvited talk

    Connections and collaborations—This Land is Your Land

    Janet R Barrett (Speaker)


    Activity: Talk typesInvited talk

    Press / Media

    Illinois music professor awarded NEH Fellowship

    Christina Bashford


    1 item of Media coverage

    Press/Media: Press / Media

    Illinois music professor awarded Carnegie Fellowship

    Michael B Silvers


    1 Media contribution

    Press/Media: Press / Media

    Faculty members selected for distinguished chairs

    Antoinette M Burton, Nathan Gunn, Stephen P Long & Jeffrey S Moore


    1 Media contribution

    Press/Media: Research

    Honors & Recognition

    2011 Grammy Entry List

    Debra A Richtmeyer (Recipient), 2011

    Prize: Other distinction

    2012 ASCAP/SEAMUS Student commission Competition

    Eli Mulvey Fieldsteel (Recipient), 2012


  • 2014 Distinguished Composer of the Year

    Christos Tsitsaros (Recipient), 2014

    Prize: Honorary award